Cat Forum banner

got bitten by a stray cat

5K views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  Bethany 
#1 ·
ok i was just outside in my backyard and i saw this cat so i started playing with it and all of a sudden this cat attacks me and bites my hand. its not very deep but could i get any infection or on a serious note a deadly disease like rabies from it? i washed and everything and once again its not deep. Its kind of like a paper cut. i dont know whos cat it was so i have no idea if the cat was like healthy but it seemed that it belonged to someone and was healthy..like i tired feeding him so meat and it seemed full and didnt eat anything..but well i have seen this cat at 3-4 am walking around so i dont know but seemed healthy..and i didnt see any sign of like saliva and foaming coming out of its mouth..i called my vet. (i have a dog) and he said that i should go to hospital but honestly like if i go to hospital and show them the bite i think they would laugh at me..like its more like a paper cut than a bite...anything to be worried about here? my main concern is rabies because i think thats the deadliest out of all..

#2 ·
Re: hot bitten by a stray cat

If you are worried, I would go to the hospital.

IMO, I would never attempt to handle a cat I hadn't at least been able to observe for some time. If the cat appeared healthy, I wouldn't worry, but that is *me* and I feel capable of making judgement calls about things that happen to myself.
*You* will have to decide for yourself, what to do here.