Is it possible to be allergic to dogs and not cats? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums
CatForum.com is the premier Cat Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2010, 07:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Cat

Default Is it possible to be allergic to dogs and not cats?

I just got home from the doctor. Been feeling horrible since last Tuesday night and today I was short of breath and coughing horribly and my chest was tight and I just felt awful. I had asthma when I was a child but I haven't had any problems in years. I've had cats for almost a year now and been fine. When I went to see the doctor he said my lung function was at 60% of normal and that I was having a flare up of asthma and bronchitis. He asked me if I had been exposed to anything different lately and the only thing I could think of was that last Tuesday I was exposed to my patient's new dog (I work as a home health nurse). So my question is, is it possible to be allergic to dogs only and not cats?
Leni is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-04-2010, 07:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Jr. Cat

yes, I have severe alergies to certain dogs, especially long haired ones. I have 6 cats though and only suffer mild allergies.

Ask your doctor for an allergy shot, they work wonders. I need to get mine renewed every 3-4 months.
Old 10-04-2010, 07:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Cat

Ok, thanks. I see him again next week for followup so will definitely bring that up. Just wanted to make sure I wasn't crazy, haha I was wracking my brain all day trying to figure out what else has been new lately to make me react that way and that is the only thing I could think of.
Leni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 08:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Cat

yes i have 6 dogs and no problem and i am very allergic to cats (even though i have 7 right now =)..)
Old 10-04-2010, 09:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Tom Cat