Water Fountain - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums
CatForum.com is the premier Cat Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-27-2011, 05:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Jr. Cat

Default Water Fountain

I am not sure which section this belongs in, so if this is the wrong one, I apologize. This section just seemed most suited.

I decided to make the cats (and dogs) a water fountain.

I've read that cats prefer running water (which is obvious) and will drink much more often if they're given a source of running water.

It didn't cost me a dime because I had everything laying around the house (I'm an aquarium hobbyist) but even starting from scratch it would be very inexpensive.

The filter (and plain sponge that goes inside) cost about $10-15 and the plastic bin is obviously cheap ($1-3) so it's quick, easy and inexpensive. Also, the filter uses very little power, so it won't really boost your electric bill.

So far, the cats seem to like it, but the dogs aren't quite sure. :lol3:

The filter will keep it clean, we won't have to fill it so often (holds about 4 gallons) and it sure looks a lot better than a bowl with a bunch of hair in it!
Pooch&Dosscara is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-27-2011, 10:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Jr. Cat

this is pretty neat, except the electric cords kind of scare me! However, I am glad I saw this. I read the same about running water being more interesting to cats and I looked into getting a fountain for Beauty, but when I saw the prices, I couldn't get it. I didn't comparison shop, but still. Neat idea!
Beauty Betty Berry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 10:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tom Cat

That's a great little homemade gadget! My cat has a water fountain too. He drinks out of that more than any other water bowl/bottle I've given him.