Mother cat abandoned kitten - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums
CatForum.com is the premier Cat Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-30-2004, 10:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Cat

Default Mother cat abandoned kitten

I was just at my friend's house. There's a feral cat that they've been feeding for some time now and she's just had kittens a few weeks ago. She moved all 4 of them into my friend's garden but then moved them out of there, except she left one behind. She's been back (to eat) but she ignores the kitten (even tho he cries so much), she doesn't want anything to do with him.

I've read that one reason can be that he may have some kind of deffect. But I didn't notice anything wrong with him, not that I could see (I'm no expert either). But one thing that they think happened was that their lil dog might have licked him in the head. It all happened so fast. Could that be the reason the mother cat left him?

She's not a first time mother either, she had a litter before. They're going to get her fixed as soo as they can.
artemisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-30-2004, 11:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Cool Cat

Something is probably wrong with the kitten. My neighbor has a chicken who had babies, and at a few days old, she left one of them. I didn't see anything wrong, so I called a chicken-freak friend of mine and took care of him. He died a few days later

Get him to a no-kill shelter ASAP or he will die out there.

Abhay

www.theanimalrescuesite.com - click once a day and feed an animal!!!
www.therainforestsite.com - click once a day and help save an endangered animal!!!
spittles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 11:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Cat