Desperately need help; new cat attacking my other cat... - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums
CatForum.com is the premier Cat Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2009, 12:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Kitten

Default Desperately need help; new cat attacking my other cat...

Hello,

This is my first time here.

I recently adopted a young spayed female from the Humane Society; last Saturday, to be exact. I have 4 other cats; 3 females (all spayed) and 1 male (neutered; had adopted him from the Humane Society this past February).

I've kept the new cat, Bitsy, in her own room since getting her.....but gradually over the past few days I've been allowing her out of the room so that she can mix with my other cats. The females have taken to her but she (new cat - she's estimated to be between the age of 1-2 yrs) has a thing for my male. The minute she sees him, she runs for him and voraciously chases him through the house. Now he, Hobee, is a very sociable, docile cat. He is the nicest cat and my other cats loved him instantly. HE is not the problem at all, it's the new cat. She'll see him from across the room and she'll run 90 miles and hour after him, he runs, she follows, until he's almost cornered........and he's growling and hissing. She's relentless. I feel so sorry for him, he looks so dumbfounded. Today I found him hiding in my walkin closet. I think he's starting to become afraid of her.

My fear is that one of them will get real hurt (scratched cornea, etc) or one of them will start spraying (is that possible? neither have before, but I just thought that if one of them feels the other is in their 'territory' that this could start and that would be devastating!).

I feel horrible locking her up all day but I feel equally horrible when he's hiding because of her.

Is this something that will just take time?