kitten and sitting on my lap - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums
CatForum.com is the premier Cat Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2012, 04:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Cat

Default kitten and sitting on my lap

Hey guys. I'm new to having a kitten and two kittens at that. My previous cat was an adult rescue and was his own man, doing his own thing. I currently am looking after two 6 month old female litter mates. Over the past few days I have noticed that while both of them like to sit on my lap, one of them has really made my lap her own, either getting aggressive or attacking the other one if she is sitting or tries to sit on my lap. Should I just accept the fact that one is more dominant and let the "winner" sit on my lap or should I try to try and let the quieter one sit on my lap and push the more dominant one off? Otherwise they get on quiet well, sharing food, litter tray and other cat beds. All suggestions greatly received. Thanks.
annegirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-09-2012, 05:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Cat Addict

How long have you had them? And does this "dominance" extend into other areas?
Arianwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Cat

hi Arianwen. I have them only 4 days. I am fostering them for a shelter. Haven't really noticed the dominance in other areas. They seem to get on pretty well otherwise with the usual chasing and each taking turns of being the chaser.
annegirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 07:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Cat Addict

Is there room for the submissive one to sit alongside and get the occasional bit of petting? I don't really think it's a good idea to interfere in dominance issues. Not that I've had experience, it's just the feeling I've got.
Old 11-10-2012, 03:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Moderator