Kitten advice - raising a balanced kitty! - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums
CatForum.com is the premier Cat Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2013, 02:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Kitten

Default Kitten advice - raising a balanced kitty!

Hi!

I wanted to get some advice about my new kitten. I adopted her about a week ago. I believe she is about 3-4 months old.

I've always had cats in the house growing up, but never had one of my own. Plus we'd always adopted adult cats so this is my first time with a kitten!

I understand from reading that the most important part of their development is in their first 12 weeks, so I appreciate that time has past. Her previous owners seemed to take good care of her, she was with her brother when I got her, and one older cat. From what they told me they have handled her a lot.

I guess I am just wanting to make sure that I am doing the right thing to ensure I end up with a friendly kitty who likes being around people!

The behaviour that I've noticed is that she is still very playful, which is great. She loves her toys and I make a point of playing with her for at least a few minutes, a few times a day. Her general demeanour is good. She never scratches, never bites etc when she's handled.

The one thing I've noticed is that she is very up and down with regards to wanting to be touched. If I've not seen her for a while (sleeping or been at work) she is very affectionate and she will come to me. However, other times if I try to pet her she will flinch and run away.

Is this normal for a kitten? Because she's so hyperactive I wondered if it's just because she's so 'on edge' that being touched startles her in the same way that say, her own tail does!