Need a bit of advice! - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums
CatForum.com is the premier Cat Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-31-2013, 10:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Jr. Cat

Default Need a bit of advice!

I joined up because I need a bit of advice, but I guess I should do the whole intro thing first.

I'm an artist, halfway through my first year of Illustration at Sheridan College, and I LOVE cats :] I have a cat back home that lives with my family, and I miss him every day. It was scary because he actually stopped eating and grooming himself when I first left for College, but he's doing a lot better now. Marmaduke is a GIANT orange fluffball, who I'm pretty sure has some Siberian in him. We found him starving on the street, unable to catch food for himself because his previous owner had him declawed in the front. I know that technically that makes him a Moggie. Even still, there are quite a few Siberian breeders around Ontario, he definitely looks the part, and he seems to be almost hypoallergenic. Maybe he's half?

Anyway, I'm a bit lonely without Marm, so I've decided to get a cat of my own. I'm absolutely in love with the Oriental breed (they look like little goblins!), so I'll be getting one from a breeder in April. The kitten is a silver chestnut spotted tabby, and has the biggest ears of his litter

(Too Long, Didn't Read? Start here.) This is where the advice bit comes in. During summers, I live with my family and Marmaduke, but during the school year I live in a condo with a couple friends. The Oriental breeder seemed really taken aback when I told her that my kitten would be without a cat companion for half the year. So, I've decided to get a second cat from the shelter, to give my kitten a buddy.