Play or fight - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums
CatForum.com is the premier Cat Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2013, 11:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Cat

Default Play or fight

Hello guys, this is my first time having 2 cats at the same time and I'm a little confused. My older cat is a bit rough on a little one. I'm not sure if they are fighting or playing. No growling or hissing from both sides, little one squeak sometimes, he has no scratches or bite marks and he is not scared of the big one. Gosha, the older cat, huffs and puffs sometimes, which I read somewhere is sign of being annoyed. Could it be he is a bit jealous of a baby? I tried to feed them together and praise both for good behavior, I alsolet them both now to stay in my bed, however Gosha doesn't want to come for rubs when I have a kitten and kitten is just like a real baby, always wants to be on me. I made a 4 mins video, this is basically how they interact now. So what do you think this is? Should I separate them again?

Gosha - shy 5 y.o. Rasta - vicious kitten
gosha is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-10-2013, 11:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Cat

Is Gosha a male and Baby a female? Perhaps Baby is beginning to mature. Are both spayed/neutered? I unsuccessfully had two cats. Due to various circumstances, the younger cat went into heat and did I have a problem with both cats! Hindsight shows me the problem started at least two weeks before when the older cat would chase down the younger and rough house. I hope that isn't the reason for you. Gosha is rather rough with the Baby, I think. If Gosha does this while you are there, what does he/she do when you aren't?
Catmamma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 11:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Cool Cat

Likely playful, IMO. Cats play pretty roughly with each other.