ringworm - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums
CatForum.com is the premier Cat Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-15-2008, 07:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Kitten

Default ringworm

I went to the vet yesterday with my two cats. One is a 15 year old female and the other is a 4 month old male. The male is a stray I found a week ago. The vet told me that my 15 year old possibly has a thyroid problem (tests will be back on that in a week) and that she does have early kidney disease (a test confirmed this). I am devastated by the news about my 15 year old. However, that is not the problem I currently need advice on, the kitten has what the vet believed to be ringworm. She said i had two choices, to either treat him for it which she said would be a long and unpleasant journey, or bring him to the animal shelter (where he would be put to sleep). I don't have a lot of money (i am a graduate student), but I couldn't bear the thought of him being put to sleep because of a little fungus (he is otherwise very healthy). She told me she was so sure it was ringworm that I just needed to treat him for it (she didn't test him for it). She told me to bath him 2X a week for 3 weeks, and then 1x a week for 6-8 weeks in "Malaseb" shampoo. She also instructed me to "dip" him after shampooing in "Nolvasan". She told me to bath my other cat 1X a week for as a precaution until i was done treating the kitten. I had the kitten for a week before I was able to get a vet to see him, during that time he roamed the house freely. I now have him "quarantined" in the bathroom. Is it necessary to keep the kitten quarantined since he already exposed everyone (including my other cat and my boyfriends kids) to ringworm for a week? If i do need to keep him in the bathroom by himself, how long do i need to do this? Can I reuse the "dip" for both cats (I wash one after the other). Is there some kind of lotion i should be applying directly to his nose, feet