can a cat live with ear polyps? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums
CatForum.com is the premier Cat Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-13-2009, 08:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Kitten

Default can a cat live with ear polyps?

my cat had an extremely foul odor coming from ear, I took him to vet and the vet said he has polyps. he said that surgery would be the best route and that it was gonna run about a 1,000 dollars and even worse, it has a good chance of returning in as little as a month. he hasnt had any other symptoms whatsoever other than the smelly ear. the vet gave me antibiotics and what not. my question is , how long can a cat live with this thing? if left untreated, whats the worst that could happen? im a college student so cant just throw down 1,000 dollars with the possibility of having to do this again in a few months. should i wait for more symptoms to occur before considering this surgery? will the polyps get worse? or is there a chance that a stinky ear is as far as it will go? as he seems very healthy and playful. thanks in advance for your replies...
bradthebloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-13-2009, 09:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Cat Addict

Default Re: can a cat live with ear polyps?

It depends on the poplyps, and I would suggest a second opinion from another vet.

One of my cats has ear polyps, but the are just in the ear and my vet can see that the ear drum itself is not affected, and they don't ant further. He had a bad ear mite infestation when he was rescued from a hoarded with 93 other cats. He was on antiobiotics and twice daily eardrops for about a month to clean out the waxy debris in his ears, and I still need to clean his ears periodically because his earwax doesn't drain normally due to the polyps. But he doesn't require surgery because they are no naso-pharyngial polyps.