Cat not urinating or eating - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums
CatForum.com is the premier Cat Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2010, 07:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Kitten

Default Cat not urinating or eating

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to this forum but not a newbie to cats. My husband and I have had Yoda for 5 years. Last night we noticed he kept going into his litter box alot but apparently nothing was coming out. We figured he was constipated so today bought some Laxa-Stat that we mixed into some canned food. But he wouldn't eat the food. That is completely abnormal for him. Normally he'll eat canned food any time. His normal routine is 2 controlled portions of dry food a day so loves any opportunity to eat canned food. We believe he's a Maine Coon and has a long, thick coat which he grooms alot! He occasionally gets hairballs so we have Petromalt on hand, which he normally gobbles up. He wouldn't eat that either. So we've called our vet and left a message asking if he we can bring him in right away tomorrow. We plan on taking him in at 8am even without an appointment, hoping he'll be able to work him in anyway.

Yoda is also yowling sometimes which he normally only does when we've held him too long (I'm guilty of this sometimes =). So for him to be doing it when we're not even touching him or even near him is strange. Can anyone think of anything we can do for Yoda today while we wait to take him into the vet tomorrow?

Thanks.
valeeng is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-21-2010, 07:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator

Default Re: Cat not urinating or eating

You need to get him to an emergency vet tonight, do not wait till tomorrow...it sounds like he is blocked and in severe pain. A urinary blockage can lead to death very quickly. This is a very, very serious situation. Here is an emergency vet locator web site if you don't know where the closest one is to you.