Cat food and Poo smell - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums
CatForum.com is the premier Cat Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2010, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Kitten

Default Cat food and Poo smell

So this might be a weird question, but here's my situation. I've been using Premium Edge Weight Control cat food for my 2 cats for a few years now because we thought that it had the best ingredients. (http://www.premiumedgepetfood.com/produ ... l_formula/) We've always used that food so we always thought that their stinky poo was normal.

The other day, we ran out of food unexpectedly and had to go to a grocery store and bought some IAMS healthy naturals weight control. (http://www.iams.com/iams/en_US/jsp/IAMS ... tID=200004) We realized very quickly that their poo was WAY less smelly with the new food. However, the ingredients for the IAMS seem inferior to the Premium Edge.

So my question for you all is this. Does the less smelly poo mean the food is somehow better for the cats and thus smells less? Is there a connection between quality of food and the smell of their poo? Should I switch to the IAMS for the sake of my nose?

Thanks for the help!
fantastipotamus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-11-2010, 12:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Premier Cat

Default Re: Cat food and Poo smell

Welcome to CatForum, and I must say ... I *love* your screen-name!

As far as solid-waste odor, I think it could be some certain ingredient, or quantity of, that your cats were reacting to with a strong odor. Everyone digests things differently and it could be that both of your cats' systems just didn't care for something that was in the PEWC food and isn't in the Iams.