How long to isolate a stray? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums
CatForum.com is the premier Cat Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-02-2010, 05:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Jr. Cat

Question How long to isolate a stray?

This is my first time fostering a stray kitten - I saw an add which said that an approximately 3-4 months old abandoned kitten had been found and that the woman who had taken him in could only have him until yesterday. Sadly, this is a very common situation here especially with the state of the economy

Somehow his picture just 'spoke' to me - I instantly connected with him and knew that I would not forgive myself if I did not help the little guy. So last night I went to get him and now he's isolated in my bathroom (only room with door, but also the best room for flea containment).

Last night, I dewormed him, bathed him with a special flea shampoo and when he was dry, treated him with Frontline Combo solution for fleas. He wasn't the worst case of flea infestation, but I think there were at least some 15-20 fleas on him. It's now been 12 hours since the bath and the Frontline treatment and I can happily say that I can no longer find any on him.

He is otherwise in good health, he was already checked out by a vet who confirmed only the need for deworming and flea control.

I have two cats of my own - a 4 year old and a 7 month old. Now the question is: how long do I have keep the stray isolated until I can be sure that the fleas won't jump onto my two cats? I got the pet-safe spray for treating the apartment in general, though I'm not sure how often that should be done.

Also, if they begin communicating, will that mean that I need to deworm my two kitties as well, just in case they have ingested some larvae eggs?
Oriole is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-03-2010, 02:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Premier Cat

[quote]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oriole View Post