Third eyelid showing? Update. - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums
CatForum.com is the premier Cat Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2012, 08:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Cat Addict

Default Third eyelid showing

Franky, the stray that I have been feeding for the last 2-3 months, is showing his third eye lids. He has not lost any weight, he is still eating good, but he seems a little sluggish. I am worried about the little guy (he is not a kitten, he is a really big black male cat). I tried to trap him once and failed miserably, now he is afraid of the trap. Any suggestion about getting him into the trap and/or what might be wrong with him. He lets me pet him a little but I can not pick him up to put him in a carrier, he won't let me.
Jetlaya67 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-11-2012, 08:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator

The third eyelid showing is a symptom of many things, like a fever is for us. With Cleo, it was parasites from her previous home.

Have you tried putting some really smelly food, like tuna or other fish, in the trap? If he'll let you pet him, could you have a blanket nearby and cover him with it quickly and put him in the carrier? (I've had to do that, too.)

Always in my heart, my lovely Cinderella, running free at the Bridge.
http://www.catforum.com/forum/member...signature2.jpg
marie73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 03:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Cat Addict

If you could handle him, I'd suggest a vet. Since you can't I'd go for tempting food as well.
Arianwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 01:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Cat Addict

Are there vets who make house calls in your area?
spirite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Cat