Poorly Kitty - Broken Femur - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums
CatForum.com is the premier Cat Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-25-2012, 06:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Kitten

Default Poorly Kitty - Broken Femur

Hi,

Merry Christmas.

I'm a newbie here and I was hoping somebody could offer me some advice on one of my kitties.

He was bitten by a dog 2 weeks ago which led to him having a broken femur. The vet has repaired the leg using pins etc and an external fiaxtor. He's also been prescribed cage rest for 6-8 weeks.

Sharkie, is never a happy kitty in his cage, he had mad spells where he runs (well in a confined space) performs somersaults and generally attacks the carboard I've put round the cage to protect and calm him. Has anybody any experience how I can help to make his enforced rest any easier for him, or things to do to brighten his day?

I've also noticed this morning one of the pins (the one the vet said is usually the problematic one as it goes through the most tissue) is looking as if its been weeping. Also he appears to be loosing the fur around the pin site. Is this usual, as I don't recall seeing it yesterday.

Thanks for reading and for any advice and tips given.
Attached Thumbnails
Poorly Kitty - Broken Femur-024.jpg  
Sharkie&Sparx Mum is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-25-2012, 09:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Kitten

Maybe you could try putting a big blanket or sheet over the cage. It seemed to help when I got Oliver my youngest Kitty when I had to get him used to being around people because he was scared of everything. Good luck with your little man
kittyfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 10:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Kitten