How she got her name - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums
CatForum.com is the premier Cat Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-26-2012, 10:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Kitten

Default How she got her name

I am an elementary music teacher, and last year on the Thursday before Thanksgiving break, I heard a very loud, high-pitched "mew!" coming form (seemingly) outside my room (there is a window and an outside door in my room). I looked out the window, didn't see or hear anything... went back to what I was doing. I heard it again, still quite loud, listened by the door, but didn't hear it again. I was a little puzzled, but unwilling to let a cat into the my room/the building, so I said a little prayer for the kitten and went back to what I was doing.

A little later that morning, half way through my 1st graders' lesson, all of a sudden, every last little 1st grader turned their heads, pointed, gasped, and yelled "A KITTEN!!!!" as the kitten ran from behind the cabinet right behind where I was standing to behind the storage cabinets in my room.

Well, to make a long story short, our plant operators set up a live trap over night, caught her in it (although she did manage to get OUT, so they had to re-catch her- it looked like World War 3 in my room the next morning!), and I ended up taking her home. I took her to the vet, and she was amazingly healthy. The vet guessed she was about 9 weeks old, and weighed all of about 2 pounds.

Needless to say, she was a feral little thing and scared out of her mind. It took her about 6 months to really settle down and get used to us and the dog (who she now just looooooves).