Collar Help! - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-03-2007, 10:08 PM Thread Starter
Cat

Collar Help!

I've done searches on collar threads but need more info.

I DO need a collar for at least one cat. He is very curious and I could see him happening to get out. He is microchipped, but I'd feel better if he wore a collar.

Here are questions . . .
(1) The breakaway collar . . .do they just keep coming off and become worthless? Are some better than others? I saw a Lupine recommended here. Is that a good one?
(2) The Beastie Band . . .is this better than a trad. breakaway or annoying?
(3) When should I get a tag (gonna get a Boomerang)? Try the collar out, make sure it works, and THEN get a tag?

TY!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-03-2007, 10:28 PM
Premier Cat

The safety collar is what I would recommend and I do this for a living. In fact, I won't take the chance of making a collar that isn't a breakaway, as I'd hate to find out someone's kitty got stuck on something by wearing one of my collars. The beastieband should be good too since it stretches all the way around, I think the cats could always slide out of it.

The trick is to get them used to it young. I believe it takes about 10lbs of pressure to pull apart, so it's ideal to get them used to it. Trot was close to 17 lbs and never pulled his off and my others have never minded wearing theirs either. However, I have had friends that had theirs pulled off and lost the first day. Though each of them were trying out a collar on a cat that was anywhere from 2-10 years old for the first time.

Lupine collars are better for dogs as their main attribute is that they gaurantee against chewing.