Cat Moms that work - how do you do it? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-15-2007, 11:47 AM Thread Starter

Cat Moms that work - how do you do it?

I'm a teacher and I've had a second job for the last year. I adopted Chloe in April, towards the end of the school year and worked roughly seven hours every day (including weekends) .

Chloe over the last two months and has been peeing everywhere in my apartment. I am pretty sure it's because I am working more now that it's summer and because I gave my other cat away since he was nasty to Chloe.

I am currently retraining Chloe to use the litterbox via the "lock her in until she uses it method" that I was recommended in the behavior forum.

How do working Cat Moms ensure that their cats feel loved and attended to even though they are gone a good six hours a day? Should I adopt another cat to help Chloe?

I feel guilty about working so much but do need the income. Is there a good way to keep everything balanced?

Any ideas that you all might have?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-15-2007, 11:52 AM
Cat

I dunno . . .I think it depends on the cats. We've always had 2+ cats, so maybe that helps, and they are very laid-back. Change does not seem to phase them. I've had years where I was gone for longer than that daily and the cats had no issues.

I'd get another cat if she likes cats . . .but maybe have the pee issue resolved first.
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-15-2007, 12:29 PM

I honestly do find it a little difficult to spend quality time with each cat. I hold down a somewhat full time job, and hubby does 10 hrs a day, 4 days a week. I have 5 cats of my own, and at any given time, upwards of 6 kittens to socialize/foster.