Is this everything I need before getting my first cat? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-09-2008, 03:07 AM Thread Starter

Is this everything I need before getting my first cat?

I have been researching cats for a few months now and am about ready to purchase everything I will need before I adopt my new friend.

So far I am planning on getting the following:
Nail trimmers
90 styptic pads (hoping they never have to be used)
laser pointer
Da Bird toy
a cat carrier
2 stainless steel bowls(1 for food, the other for water)

Stain remover and odor control http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/p ... atid=13503 ( has anyone used this?)

scratching post/furniture http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/p ... atid=17725

FURminator grooming tool (is anyone familiar with this? Is it worth the price?)

Litter Box http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/p ... atid=17751

LItter- not sure what type yet

and food- again not sure what type yet

So do I have all of the necessary supplies on my list? Is there anything you would add/change/remove? Im getting more excited to adopt my cat then ever now that Im shopping for supplies!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-09-2008, 03:59 AM

That's a cool cat tree!

Let me know how you go with the Furminator, I've been considering it but I haven't bought one yet (I use a few different brushes at the moment).

I got some cat ear cleaning liquid and some cotton balls, for cleaning Milly's ears -- but I don't know if anyone else does this . I got Da Bird a few weeks ago... it's *awesome*! When I first brought Milly home I got her a whole bunch of cheap little toys, which she appreciated fully.

I use clay-based litter, but I don't know which type is the best, maybe someone else can help you out there.

I'm excited for you! Please post pics when he/she arrives!
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-09-2008, 04:07 AM
Super Moderator