Need Advice About Feral Cat - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-08-2009, 07:19 PM Thread Starter

Need Advice About Feral Cat

Opinions Please.

Question 1: I have been feeding a feral cat for about 3 years. It has taken that long for him to feel comfortable coming into my downstairs hot tub room (separate door to outside) to eat and he has started laying on a rug that's on a box in the room. He would come in almost every afternoon and luxuriate. Last night he was inside eating and we shut the door (he has been in the room overnight a few nights off and on; he hides behind the tub). Usually after he's been in the room at night, he doesn't show up for 2-3 days, but today he was back in the late afternoon (we let him out at about noon after it warmed up outside ) -- he wanted more food. He was quite tentative about coming into the room but I put food in his dish and then went by the door. He came in and I shut the door. He ran for the door and then hid behind the hot tub. I left; he came out and ate, and then went on top of the tub and looked out the window. He was on the tub again later but jumped down when I came in the room. Tomorrow I'll let him out again and see what happens. He doesn't howl but he would run out in a heartbeat if I open the door. I am so afraid of alienating him. Don't want him afraid to come and eat. Have gotten attached and want him to keep coming back. Ideally, he would go out during the day and be inside at night. We live in the mountains in NC so it gets in the 20's at night and 40-50's in daytime. My husband says the cat was quite self-sufficient to keep himself warm before I came along and maybe I should just let him be. I want to make his life as comfortable as possible. Would eventually like to be able to be able to touch him and get him vet care. Have tried Have A Heart trap; he won't come near it -- leaves; won't even eat. Does it sound like he's hating being inside? Is my husband