Urgent Help needed - extremely traumatic event - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-25-2009, 08:10 AM Thread Starter

Urgent Help needed - extremely traumatic event

Hi all,

This is my first time posting. I really need some advice. I am a cat lover, having been brought up with cats all my life. I adore them and after Christmas my partner and I brought home our first cat together Molly. She is absolutely beautiful with long black hair and very sweet.

When we picked her up from the shelter they said that she could be very timid for a while, but on the second day I held my hand out to her and she threw herself at me purring loudly and head butting me for petting. It's been like this every since - very affectionate and loving.

We had bought her lots of toys and today she was playing with one. It's a fish on a string, attached to a soft stick which we would use to tease her. But today she was playing wildly and the string got caught up in her hind legs. I noticed something was wrong when she started running and crying - first I thought she was still playing but she was very scared.

It escalated after this. She was freaked out, trying to run away but the fish part was caught in her legs and the stick was following her. I tried to untangle it but she lost her head and started hissing wildly. I tried desperately to get it untangled but she bit my finger and wouldn't let go, it was as if she was trying to pull it off my hand. This was very painful obviously so I let a shout out and hit her where my hand was in her mouth (with my other hand).

She released me but was still crying and hissing and by now she was caught in the table leg. I just ran and got a scissors and cut the string so at least she wasn't caught anymore in the table leg. Then I had to grab her scruff and hold her down while I untangled the fish and the string.