Plotting WORLD DOMINATION - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-05-2009, 10:17 PM Thread Starter

Plotting WORLD DOMINATION

ÖKinda. More like our household, but stillÖ

Iím Isosceles andÖ uhÖ I donít own a cat. Yet. Itís actually why I joined up. I want to present a plan to my parents in hopes of wooing them into getting one, maybe two, kittens. (Theyíre wary of the idea, but not completely adverse to it.) However, I want to pre-empt their questions, and in order to do so, Iíd have to have everything all set and ready to go. Thus, I come to you with my inquires. Letís get started, shall we?

1) One Kitten Versus Two
óItís everywhere on the internet that getting two kittens is far better than getting one. As a college student, my time will be mostly spent on campus during the days. Luckily, I live at home with my parents (school is a forty minute walk down the street). This means that the kitten(s) will spend up to seven hours alone during the week, as both my parents work and my brother is in high school. Would you guys recommend getting a pair of kittens, to spare a single kitten boredom (not to mention the furniture the wrath of kitten claws)? Are two kittens noticeably more expensive than one (day-to-day, as I know all expenses will be doubled)?

2) The Food
óWhat kind of food should be purchased for the kittens, and later on for the cats? Preferably something you could buy from a Petco or Walmart.

3) The Litter Situation
óFor homes with two cats, is it truly necessary to get three litter boxes? Our home is a bit cramped for space, and there is really only one viable spot for a litter box. Could I get away with just one? Another idea I had was to toilet train the kittens. Have any of you tried this, and does it work?

4) Leash Training