New member - first post! - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-11-2009, 01:47 PM Thread Starter

New member - first post!

Hello
I am really new to this but am maybe thinking about getting a kitten.
My main concern, well 2, are the shedding issue, and temprement? Most cats I know seem to have an evil side!
Are nearly all cats stubborn and bitey/scratchy?
Don't really know much about cats to be honest, hence I am here
Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-11-2009, 01:59 PM
Cat Addict

Re: New member - first post!

I've been owned by dozens of cats and no two are ever the same, particularly in the personality and temperment department. As far as shedding, long hair/short hair doesn't seem to matter as much as breed and skin type. I currently have 2 long hairs which hardly shed or require grooming at all, I also have another long hair and short hair who shed like Chewbaca on Rogaine.

Welcome.

-steve

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-11-2009, 02:11 PM
Premier Cat

Send a message via MSN to Jeanie

Kittens love to play fight, and if you allow it, they will play fight with your hand. Don't allow them to do that, or they will continue it. They're lively, like all little ones, but that's not nastiness; it's playfulness. I have had many cats, and only one adult who would scratch on occasion. (my son called her psycho kitty, but she was the exception, by far.) Mostly, they have been loving, soft, great pets. I love both cats and dogs, so I'm not biased. Cats like to choose whether they want to sit on your lap, etc. They are also the only animal to give gentle love bites, but love bites don't hurt.

Cats are more independent than dogs, but still quite loving. I would hate to make the choice, but I've never been without a cat (or 2 or 3 or 4!) in my entire married life!

Jeanie