Total newbie to kitties! - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-19-2010, 07:57 PM Thread Starter

Total newbie to kitties!

Hi all,

I lived with a friend who had a cat, up till that point I was a dog person hated cats but I fell in love with that silly cat

I moved out and totally miss her So...I've made the decision to get a kitty

I just have a few questions for all you cat gurus out there if you wouldn't mind.

Lets say I live on a main road so I'd like a house cat, I have someone else who lives here who is allergic to a lot of things so it probably has to be a short haired cat. I just wondered if anyone had any suggestions? I hear that different breeds have different personality traits from birth. I just want a really friendly cat. I hear Burmese are very friendly but from the looks of them they are, bless them, quite hairy. I then looked at Scottish fold kittens which again are gorgeous but I hear they are susceptible to many illnesses? Is this true? (I have also seen there are not many breeders for them in the UK, is this a bad sign) OK, last question the other sort of cat I love is on "Youtube" I'm not sure of forum etiquette so I wont post the link but the video is called "stealth cat" I'm sure some of you have already seen it, the user is Japanese I've mailed him but he doesn't reply, possibly as my japanese language skill doesn't exist

If anyone cares, I'm going to steal a name I saw on the internet last year hes going to be called "Chairman Meow"

By the way, I am a guy, but for some reason whenever I talk about cats I end up sounding like a little girl, I cant help it sorry but kitties are sooo cute!! OK deep breaths count to ten.....

Thanks in advance, I'm sure my questions are dumb and have been asked before but any help would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-19-2010, 08:26 PM
Cat

Re: Total newbie to kitties!