Stepdad is allergic to our new cat! - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-14-2010, 11:03 PM Thread Starter

Stepdad is allergic to our new cat!

Hello everyone

Firstly, hello - I'm new here. My name is Ana and Im a 20 year old student and I've had cats my whole life. 3 growing up, called Bonnie, Maisie and Chiko and more recently, one of my own, Kitty. I currently split my timebetween my London home for university and my family home in Crawley where I stay with my Mum and her fiance, aka my stepdad, Nick.

For the last few years I've suffered from PTSD after a difficult childhood, and although usually cope well, following some stressful family issues regarding my biological dads health - who I am still very close to, (he has secondary cancer and is very poorly), my PTSD became unbearable and I made the decision to get a cat to keep me company and to cheer me up. I went to an RSPCA centre and got a lovely little tortie cat called Kitty. Shes about 11 months old. Lovely little thing, very snuggly - on her terms of course! - being a typical tortie! But a lovely cat all the same, very sweet and happy to do her own thing when I'm out and about. Since getting her she has undoubtedly made my PTSD a lot easier. It's amazing how whenever I feel upset or down about my Dads cancer or feel scared about what the future holds, just holding her in my lap and listening to her purr and talking to her about my day, just makes everything goes away. She's been with us a month now and everyone has become very attached and she is already a loved part of the family. The problem is, what was unknown to everyone - even him! - my stepdad has turned out to be allergic to cats!