can train kitten to not jump on artwork?? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-07-2010, 03:01 PM Thread Starter

can train kitten to not jump on artwork??

Hi I am new to this forum. My little budgie died last week I was thinking of getting another but I have problems with the sometimes incessant noise they make!. I am a cat lover and have always had a cat...but my apartment doesnt allow cats and dogs which is why I got a bird. But now they are allowed. I am an artist and wonder if I can train a kitten to not go near my artwork?!! There is no door...thank you. It would be nice if I got an answer today as I want to rush out tomorrow and try to get one!! Also being it will be an indoor cat it wont get fleas right? Or other illnesses that outdoor cats do? thank you!! diane
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-08-2010, 04:23 AM
Cat

Re: can train kitten to not jump on artwork??

Hmmm, it kind of depends on the artwork and the cat.

The younger the cat the more wild they are. Kittens 2-3 months old will happily scale anything like it's his/her own personal Everest. Curtains are a favorite. So is any soft furniture. By 5 months they tend to be excellent jumpers and can go right for that awesome perch under the window or high counter top. They only claw when they misjudge the height or start to fall as a means of catching themselves.

So if your artwork is sculpture and resembles trees, then I expect most cats will happily christen it for you. If it's paintings, you could minimize their attractiveness. Don't leave them near windows to make good perches, don't drape cloths over them to make attractive things to climb or attack like curtains. Make sure you put all your paints and brushes away so kitty can't walk across and knock them everywhere.

Older cats tend to be less interested in play and more in finding comfortable places to sleep.