Age Limit to Adopt? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-12-2010, 06:29 PM Thread Starter
Jr. Cat

Age Limit to Adopt?

Do cat and dog foundations have an age limit for applicants? I'm 22 and I already sent in adoption form 4 weeks ago for cat on Petfinder. I have not heard back. The reason I ask this is because I remember trying to adopt a cat when I was younger and they said you need to be at least 24 years old.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-12-2010, 06:33 PM
Tom Cat

Re: Age Limit to Adopt?

I don't think there is a limit, but I'm sure it depends on the organisation that you're trying to adopt from. I was approved to adopt a cat at 18.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

If anyone asks, I'm studying.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-12-2010, 08:49 PM
Premier Cat

It depends on how often the organization check thier email. Some rescues are all volunteer so they do it after they are done working their day jobs.

Is there a phone number for the rescue or the particular cat? We would adopt to someone who is 22. Wed make sure you understood this is a life long commitment. Some rescues get nervous about adopting to a student since their life is unpredicatable.

A wonderful young man adopted a cat that I fostered from our TNR group. We asked how he would handle keeping the cat if he was going home for the summer. How much experience does he have caring for a cat. Did he grow up with pets. We call all our adopters to see how things are going right after the adoption and then a few months after that

We heard from him about a year ago and he sent us a donation saying thank you for adopting to me the best cat ever. It was very sweet and reassuring to hear from him. I would adopt again to a student. Age doesnt matter. It is the commitment and attitude.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement