starting up - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old 06-07-2011, 08:00 AM Thread Starter
Kitten

starting up

Hi there! So I really want to get a kitten/young cat, possibly two. I've never owned a cat before, but a. since I've wanted a cat for a very long time and b. I lo-o-o-ve planning things and getting organized, so I've done a lot of reading.

As another intro, I'm a college student, and I will be living in an apartment (well, really, the first story of a house) that permits cats and as far as I know, does not demand that they be declawed. At least, there's nothing in the contract about cats being declawed, so kitty will be keeping their claws. And I know that college students don't necessarily have a "stable" living situation but I have looked into living situations in my top three grad schools--and if I don't get into a grad school I actually want to go to, I'll be staying where I am and working--and all have housing options available that permit pets, and I've looked into moving house and cats. Also other than class, I'm usually at home, and I will have a roommate as well (who is also excited about kitty).

Anyway one of my current concerns is, one kitty or two? The main thing that is a concern here is the money, and things like vet bills, which obviously aren't a monthly cost (hopefully...) but could pack a punch.

I know "start-up" fees will be a chunk:

100 for a kitten/young cat, 150 for a pair (includes spay/neuter, vaccinations, necessary worm treatment, FeLV test, FIV test for 6 months +)
One-ish-time costs like carriers, food/water bowls, nail clippers, litter boxes/scoops, home set-up things