Bad place to put a litter box? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 07-05-2012, 07:49 PM Thread Starter
Jr. Cat

Bad place to put a litter box?

Hello All,

Is there a place, say a bedroom or living room, that is not best to place a litter box?

I'm thinking the main litter box for a soon to be adopted cat would be in my bath room (tile floor) and was looking for a good secondary location (most of the rest of the area is carpeted.. not ideal for box I would assume.. (the notion being this is a second cat so boxes being 2 +1.

For the record, the bathroom and bedroom are not directly connected to each other, but are on the same floor (top floor of the building, which is pretty much all mine)

Thoughts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 07-05-2012, 08:22 PM
Senior Cat

I'm not really an expert on the subject, but litter box should be easily accessed and offer the cat some level of privacy. I don't think carpet or tile makes much difference...mine are in the bathroom with marble tile floor. If you put it on carpet, there are mats you can buy to put under it. The main concern there is all the litter that will get kicked out onto the floor, and you probably don't want that in your carpet.
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 07-05-2012, 08:27 PM
Super Moderator

My three cats have two litter boxes. The "1 each plus 1 extra" is really not practical for lots of people, especially those with multiple cats. You can start out with 3 and then see how they do with 2. There's no right or wrong place. Personally, I'd never have one in the bathroom because I don't want to walk on litter, especially stepping out of the shower. I have one next to the back door, which is only used to take the trash out once a week, and one in a little alcove space, with a plush bath rug to help get the litter off their feet.

Cali, Cinderella, Cleo and Charlee