Cat and Socialization - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-31-2003, 04:16 AM Thread Starter

Cat and Socialization

Hi, this is my first time post.

I live alone in an one bedroom apartment with my 9 month old cat, Timmy.

Since I've had dogs all my life, so I'm pretty knowledgeable about dogs. I know dogs needs to be socialized with other dogs. THis is especially important as puppies.

Now, I was wondering if I need to socialize Timmy with other cats? Is it neccessary at all? If Timmy do need to be socialized, it's gonna be a problem for me because I don't know anyone else who has cats.

I am also concern about Timmy's safety with other cat. Timmy is small in size (female cat), her nails are trimmed, and Timmy is a very shy and nice cat. In case of other cat attacts, Timmy might not be able to defend herself.

I thought about just bringing Timmy outside once a while for her to "look at the world" (she's been an indoor cat since.. ever!), but everytime I bring her outside, she got nervous and scared. (so I don't bring her out anymore).

Anyways, what I'm trying to ask is, whether I need to socialize my cat (just like I did with my dogs)? Or is it okay to let Timmy stay indoor at all time and she'll be happy with that?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-31-2003, 04:23 AM Thread Starter

Oh and another question!

Since Timmy hasn't been in contact with other cat after she left her mom, Timmy doesn't know how to behave like a cat. Is that going to be a problem?

So far, she can use the litter box like a cat (probably copied from her mommy), use a scratching post like a cat (I taught her to). BUT! she doesn't hiss like a cat when she's mad. She never arched her back, raised her fur and hiss like a mad cat. If I did something that she doesn't like, all she did was an annoying "meeeow~~~" and look at me mad.