Hey! I'm going to be owned by a new cat soon, got some Q's! - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-29-2003, 02:53 PM Thread Starter

Hey! I'm going to be owned by a new cat soon, got some Q's!

Hi, i'm looking at getting a cat this weekend and i'm kinda new to owning a pet(i've grew up around cats tho). I'm worried about feeding schedule.

A friend of mine has a automatic cat feeder, and tells me that you can just leave cat food out and they'll eat it when they're hungry. Is this a good idea? i don't want for my cat to get fat. Also are there any good sites online that'll tell you how mutch or how often to feed a cat?

Also whats the best way to raise a cat to be loving?

thankx!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-29-2003, 03:14 PM

Hi nico!!

I've always just let my cats eat all they want, but if one of them ever did start to get fat I would merely feed the cat 1 cup of food a day, only giving it to her when she seems rather more hungry than she always looks.

As for raising a cat lovingly, I treat my cat with respect. But if she starts to misbehave... I simply tell her "no" and if she doesn't stop I tap her lightly on the nose.

Hope this helps!!! Welcome to the cat forum!

>><<<
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-29-2003, 03:21 PM

Free feeding (through a feeder) is not bad, but it wont work for every cat, you can try it and simply stop if your cat does become fat.

Otherwise you should have 2-3 feedings per day for your cat, give him half his food in the morning, and then the other half of a full days food at night, and in the middle you can give him a nice little snack/treats. If it's a very young kitten under 3 months, provide 24/7 access to dry food, and give him wet food at least 3 times a day.