second cat question - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-2004, 08:11 PM Thread Starter
Jr. Cat

second cat question

Right now we have a female cat...about 2 years old. We would like to get a second cat because I'm pretty sure my cat is bored out of her mind all day and would like a playmate.

If we get a second cat, should it be the same sex or different sex than our cat now, or doesn't it matter?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-2004, 08:30 PM

hey there, im not an expert, but i tried this once and it didnt work. we had a female cat around 3/4 years old and we tried moving in a male cat of the same age. it didnt work out AT ALL, and the female actually ran away.....

so if you have a female....maybe its better to bring in another? or maybe ours was just really fussy and set in her ways. im not sure, maybe we just did the introductions wrong. but your cat might be happier alone since its already been 2 years....??
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-2004, 08:45 PM

Hi! I'm sure you'll find tons of good information on this firum...its great! I think it all depends on the individual cat. Some cats may prefer a friend of a different sex, some like the same, some don't care, and some don't want ANYBODY I think most cats prefer a companion, especially if their owners work or are out of the home more than a few hours a day.And there is nothing like the sight of 2 cats curled up together Right now I have 3 cats, and all were introduced at different times. Two of them are absolutely inseperable. My mom's cat, on the other hand, hates other animals Anyway, I'm sure you would be able to add another cat fairly smoothly and your cat would probably like it, but I'm not making any promises
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-2004, 09:34 PM