Low-cost vaccination clinics? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-10-2004, 04:59 PM Thread Starter

Low-cost vaccination clinics?

I've been arguing with my dad to no avail - both their cats are indoor-outdoor cats and not vaccinated. I've been trying to show my dad how important it is to take them to the vet but he has excuse after excuse - that one of them is 15 and perfectly healthy (well, sorta), that they're smart enough not to go near raccoons (who carry diseases), etc etc. It's so frustrating - he has his mind made up and even though I've WORKED with cats who have FelV and FIV, he still says it won't happen to him.

So now I'm faced with the task of getting them vaccinated and tested myself. I'm a college student, I'm pretty broke. I know certain places have low-cost vaccination clinics... how can I find one near me? Our vet we use for the dog is really good, but also quite expensive, and there's no way I can afford to get the whole route done for two cats that aren't mine.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-10-2004, 05:10 PM
Premier Cat

Send a message via MSN to Jeanie
As you know, Natalie, raccoons carry rabies. That would frighten me, if I were your dad. But, since it's up to you to get the vaccines, I would go to Google.com and enter your state and the words "low cost feline care." I'm glad you're being so responsible.

There are also place where you can buy the vaccine by phone or email, if you are not nervous about giving the shots. Breeders often do that. Just make sure you're dealing with a reputable company. You could call their 1-800 number and get some information about this.

Jeanie

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

A dog, I have always said, is prose; a cat is a poem. ~Jean Burden
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-10-2004, 06:03 PM Thread Starter