hi all...newbie here with a question - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 09:11 PM Thread Starter
jj

hi all...newbie here with a question

Hi everyone:

I have a long haired cat that is at least 10 years old. He basically runs the house, we have a dog and he runs her too...lol. Well we got her when she was a tiny puppy and they have been best friends ever since or shall I say brother and sister.

Anyhow, my problem is this. I brush Bonsey about every second day or so, or rather when he lets me, but I have noticed his hair is getting matted alot and I have also noticed that lately he has been rolling around on the carpet quite a bit, something he never did before.

Unfortunately the matting is getting worse and I am getting a little worried as now I am finding that some parts I have to cut off with scissors. I tried to slowly brush it out and be very delicate about it but he loses his patience and needless to say he leaves marks on my hands and arms, but that does not bother me.

Considering his age I was wondering if I should perhaps bring him to the Vet and let them take care of it. I do believe they would have to give im some sort of light anestetic, but what worries me is, will he wake up?

I know this sounds silly but I have never had to bring to the Vet for anything except perhaps a check up here and there and he is in quite good heath. Am I worried for nothing, as I do so love him very much.

Sorry for the long post and thanks so much

jj
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 09:22 PM

One trick that I've learned to get mats out of my dog is to saturate the mat with coat conditioner, seperate as much as you can with your fingers. Then slide a comb between the mat and the skin-to protect the skin, then cut into the mat perpendicular to the comb cutting the mat into narrow strips, then try to gently comb the mat out.