should I get a cat? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-16-2005, 11:31 AM Thread Starter
Jr. Cat

Send a message via MSN to nocturne123
should I get a cat?

Excuse me if this is long, but I really need advice from cat people!

I have always liked cats, but I started getting serious about having a cat when I met a sweet persian at the shelter I volunteer last Sunday. A bit about myself: I already have two pomeranians, both under 8 pounds, in one bedroom apt. (I checked the thread about the animals vs. space, and none of us feel overcrowded). One dog has absolutely no experience with cats other than sniffing a kitten once, and I have no experience with cats other than petting few. I understand it's gonna take a lot of work to introduce a cat into a household with dogs, and I am determined to do it properly if I do decide to get a cat.

Before I jump into cat ownership, I need to know everything before I adopt a cat, presumably sweet and mellow cat who will be happily indoor and can co-exist with my two dogs. I see that most of you don't consider crating a cat, but I am not comfortable allowing a new cat full access of any room when I am not around. I've known one cat died from chewing the electric cord, so I feel better crating a cat in a playpen when I am at work. What is your opinion about playpen?

What does a cat need, material wise, other than good food, fresh water, scratching post, cat toys, and clean litter? Any other general expenses associated with cat ownership? In general, what should I expect as a potential cat owner?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-16-2005, 11:45 AM
Banned

Welcome to the forum!! Looking for many answers!! That's OK....gotta start somewhere!! Should you get a cat? I can tell from your questions that you're going to make a great cat parent, so that's the question I'll answer: YES!!

Stay tuned....I'm sure you'll get lots of advice.