Advice on volunteer work - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-25-2005, 12:52 AM Thread Starter
Tom Cat

Advice on volunteer work

Hi guys... I am a teacher and I have the summers off... but this summer, I am taking 2 classes for grad school and I will be busy a few days a week, mostly at night. I have always wanted to volunteer at one of the animal shelters nearby my house.... and I think this might the summer I will finally do it. I need some advice on what to expect. B/c I am thinking of it in a happy way... going and socializing the cats.. brushing them and and all that. But I am guessing now that I will probably have to see some sad stuff too. And I dont know if I can handle that.... I am very emotional about animals!

Also, I know the shelter that I have been to has a seperate room for cats with FIV and such... this may sound silly... but is there a chance that I could being home harmful germs to Andie, my cat? Even eye infections or colds from the cats? I dont know if thats possible..
Any help would be great!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-25-2005, 01:32 AM
Premier Cat

Your time there will be priceless! Each shelter is different. Im sure they will use you in a capacity you can handle. I volunteer at a small shelter in the town Im temporarily living in. It is small and all the animals are well taken care of. I do a little bit of everything there.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-25-2005, 06:58 PM
Cool Cat