scratching - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-02-2005, 04:38 PM Thread Starter

scratching

Hi everybody this is my first time on this site and i have a problem im hoping someone can help!! One of my cats has a scratching problem with my hall wall well two corners of the hall she has ripped off the wallpaper right back to the chipboard and she also digs at my bedroom carpet to get the little nylon stringy bits and she eats them. She is a house cat and was a stray but she was 12-14weeks when i got her now 2yrs old. she is very demanding cat and very cuddley when she wants to be and on her terms. I have had soft claws put on her at the vets they work for a while but i hate taking her in as she turns into the cat from **** i have tried scratching posts and she ignores them. any ideas?

thank you gabs.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-02-2005, 04:58 PM
Banned

You just haven't found the right kind of scratching surface yet. I have three cats and they each prefer a different kind of scratching surface. I have four posts, five boxes, and two mats.

You could also put sticky paws on the surfaces scratched most often to deter your cat from those locations.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-02-2005, 05:06 PM

I have a kitty that scratches walls near the litterboxes so I just put some white cardboard there and that gets scratched instead.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-02-2005, 05:18 PM
Cat Addict

The only thing I've had success with my cats is the cardboard scratchers:

They're cheap, so if your cat doesn't like it then you aren't out much. My cats do not care about sisal posts, and definitely don't care about the plain carpeted ones. One of my cats scratches the wooden door frames in addition to the scratchers we have out. I'm considering buying a cedar scratching post, but they're a bit on the pricey side.

Good luck