Why do I still have fleas?? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-26-2005, 11:27 AM Thread Starter

Why do I still have fleas??

All four of my girls have Frontline Plus on them and I'm constantly going over them with a flea comb. I've sprayed my furniture and every nook and cranny with Zodiac FleaTrol and then I shampooed my carpet with Enforcer Flea Spray for Homes. So why on earth are my cats still scratching and why do I still get a ton of fleas off of them with a flea comb?? Only one of them is an inside/outside cat and the other three are inside all the time so whats going on? The flea sprays are supposed to kill fleas for seven months. Shouldn't the Frontline have killed all the fleas on my cats within 18 hours? Any ideas?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-26-2005, 12:27 PM

I am no expert but I would think they should have a flea dip bath.

Another tip is to put a flea collar inside your vacuum bag,
otherwise the fleas can just crawl back out of the vacuum cleaner.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-27-2005, 07:46 PM
Premier Cat

WoW! I would check with your vet before a flee dip if you just put frontline on. You may have to wait a bit. The flee coller in the vacuum bag works well. Also, you may have an infestation under your house. I use 'Feebuster' and haven't seen one since. Other than that, I'm stumped!

Victoria
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-27-2005, 07:51 PM
Premier Cat

P.S. Even if the flees are gone your cats may still scratch. The bites still itch. If it continues they may have flee allergies and you might try a topical ointment to soothe them. In VERY extreme cases the vet will give cortizone but I'd avoid that unless you've exhausted ALL other options and your cats are suffering.

Victoria
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-28-2005, 10:49 AM Thread Starter