Litter box & food for kittens - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-09-2005, 10:55 AM Thread Starter

Litter box & food for kittens

I am working with the stray kitty we have taken in for now. She is oh so young; I would guess 6 weeks, but I am no expert. It's been years since I've had a kitten. Her claws are very thin and her teeth are very, very young. She isn't going into the vet until Friday b/c that's when I could afford it (not expecting new bills!)

She is secluded right now until vaccinations and a checkup. I have taught her to poop in the litter box, but all day long she would lie in the other half of it. So I put the towel we used after her bath (when she started to warm up to us) in there for a bed. All day yesterday she pooped in the box and peed on the towel (and then laid on it, of course). I took the towel away last night. Will she learn to pee in the box on her own? It's not as easy as a stool when you can move it to the box to show her.

Also, at what age is dry kitten food safe (The neighbor provided us with the kitty food until we decide what to do and at least until the vet check)? She has been gobbling it up, but I have noticed a couple of tiny specks of blood left over in her dish. So last night I really soaked the food in water first, but then I found little specs of blood all over the bathroom. (tiny tiny specs) We are pretty sure it's from feeding since I first found the specs in her dish, but I'm not positive as I'm worried she may have some rectum issues also.

Thoughts? Advice? I feel like I don't know anything! (and Stephen is almost 7 years old )
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-09-2005, 11:46 PM
Premier Cat

If soaking food is too ruff for her yet.
Try baby food meat puree. or soft kitten
food from a can mixed with water to soften it.
plus the KMR milk suppliment.
This should give her a healthy diet for now.

I soaked my foster kittens hard food in water