DSHair, DMH, or DLH?? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-19-2005, 03:56 AM Thread Starter
Premier Cat

Send a message via Yahoo to my5kitties
DSHair, DMH, or DLH??

How can I tell if my babies are short, medium or long haired? I want to say that I have one of each as Midnight's fur is the shortest, Star's fur is a bit longer than Midnight's (but shorter than Lucky's), and Lucky's fur is the longest, fluffiest, and softest of all. I'm judging all this by how I'll rub their coats "against the grain" so to speak.

I'm not sure if I posted this in the right section, so if it needs to be moved, I'll understand.

I hope that you wonderful people can help me figure this out. Thanx!

----------
Renée
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-19-2005, 07:10 PM
Banned

I see you haven't gotten an answer yet. I'm no expert on this, so don't take my word for it, but I suspect it's probably a matter of personal judgment as to which category a domestic "breed" cat falls into. I've seen cats at shelters listed as long or short that I thought belonged in medium. If there's a specific standard, I hope somebody tells us both.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-19-2005, 07:37 PM Thread Starter
Premier Cat

Quote:
Originally Posted by timskitties
but I suspect it's probably a matter of personal judgment as to which category a domestic "breed" cat falls into. I've seen cats at shelters listed as long or short that I thought belonged in medium.
Your last sentence is kind of what got me wondering about my cats. When we had Midnight spayed and her boys neutered back in August, they listed Midnight as being DLH and her boys listed as DSH, which even at 2 months, you could tell that both of her boys fur was (and still is) longer than hers.

----------
Renée
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-19-2005, 08:30 PM
Premier Cat