Volunteering woes. - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-12-2006, 06:37 PM Thread Starter

Volunteering woes.

I have been volunteering at the humane society for a few months now. I go in once a week for about 3 hours. I do all the grunt work like dishes and laundry. I do a really good job. Especially with the laundry. The past few weeks there has been about 20 loads to do. About 8 loads are ready to be folded. All of the shelves are always messed up. In between loads I re-sort everything so the towls are with the towls, blankets with blankets etc. Well until this past wed. no one had ever really thanked me. I have gone out of my way to introduce myself and be really nice to the people there. Maybe 4 out of the 10 people I constantly see know my name or even acknowledge me. There are a few people that work there that just stand around and chit chat- hunched over the counter-completely ignoring me while I am head deep in dirty laundry. If it weren't for the few that make me feel somewhat welcome I would have trouble staying there. I know I am doing it for the animals but it just would feel better being there if people were more polite and friendly to me. I don't expect any rewards but just occasional acknowledgement would be nice. If I were working there and someone was willing to work for free I would definately introduce myself to them and make them feel welcome and appreciated. I am thinking about adding a second day but I am not sure.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-12-2006, 08:19 PM
Cool Cat

Kris I know exactly where you're coming from on this one. You're not looking for applause, just a friendly smile or hello or some kind of acknowledgment that you walked into the room. This kind of stuff boils my behind.

Shari
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-12-2006, 08:29 PM
Premier Cat

I think that is a common problem. Alot of it is
who is running the programs. I had tried to