Where to put all their things? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-04-2006, 01:55 PM Thread Starter

Where to put all their things?

I am hoping to get a pair of rescue cats in a couple of months, and hoped you guys could give a novice some advice!

I'm guessing I'll need a couple of litter trays, food bowls, somewhere for them to sleep etc, but I dont know how to arrange all this stuff so they'll feel most comfortable. Do litter trays have to be away from beds and food? What are some good tips on placing litter trays? In a house with several doors, how do I make sure they have access to everything without creating a gale blowing through the house!?

Sorry if these are obvious questions, I'm new to this and don't want to get it wrong!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-04-2006, 03:33 PM

Re: Where to put all their things?

For four cats, I have one big litter box, which I change every two weeks. So I think you only really need one, unless you have two floors -- if you do, I've heard it's good to have one on each floor. Definitely keep beds and litter trays away from the potty. I feed our kitties in the kitchen. In the living room they have a few beds and scratching posts to climb and scratch on, and in the bedroom they have beds as well.

If you have a house with lots of doors, maybe set up one area that will be their living area and keep all of their stuff there. It's hard to say without seeing your house.

Edited to say that I live in a one bedroom apartment...just so you know my size compared to yours.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-04-2006, 03:47 PM

Hello