Skittish kitty!! - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-04-2007, 09:34 PM Thread Starter

Skittish kitty!!

Back in February/March of this year, we rescued a kitten that was about 5 weeks old from the freeway. He was starving, VERY skinny, he had been shaved (with clippers) from his neck all the way down his back, and down to his tail. His whiskers had been cut off, and he had cuts all over him. Someone had done this baby WRONG.
Since i'm a vet assistant and know how to acclimate cats and kittens, we broguht him in. After a few days of gradual contact with our other 7 cats, it was as if he has always been here. He cuddles, cleans them, plays and chases them, etc.

Now he's filled out very nicely, he got all of his shots, he's healthy, his fur has grown back, and his whiskers have grown too, but not quite grown in yet.
When we brought him home, he was VERY skittish towards everything and everyone. He's been with us for almost a year a year now, and is just now getting to the point where he'll come into our bedroom. And he only does once he's POSITIVE my fiancee is gone.

He loves me, and purrs at me, sleeps with me, etc...but he' still a bit wary of me, he still know i'm "momma" and he doesn't see me as a threat.
My fiancee on the other hand, when he even hears his voice, he takes of and hides. He has clawed a huge hole in the side of our couch (boy was I pissed) and now he hides and sleeps in there day and night and only comes out when he's sure my fiancee is gone. When he's in the same room, he won't take his eyes off of him, and either hides behind me, or tries to bury himself under whatever he can. It really irritates me fiancee, so much to the point where he doesn't like him anymore and wants to get rid of him because "he won't have a cat that doesn't like him".