Stray Cat Being Clingy? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-15-2009, 04:57 PM Thread Starter

Stray Cat Being Clingy?

This is my first time posting here, hi everyone~

Anyway, the new stray that my boyfriend and I have been getting close to is a very affectionate cat. We're at the point where she allows us to hold her, pick her up, cut her nails, ..etc. She is affectionate, but a little too much so, she follows us around endlessly, but most of the time by walking under our feet. How can I stop her from doing that? We're careful, but we can't always be and when we do step on she gets angry (naturally). We don't want her to end up getting hurt.

Also, she'll jump on my lap (or anyone's in fact, even a stranger) if given the chance, and start kneading repeatily. In fact she's almost always kneading, whether it be walking around, eating, or being pet, no matter what if we're around she'll be kneading. Any thoughts on that?

My mom, whom I learned all my animal knowledge from says that this cat sounds like she was abandoned, and is just lonely. We're thinking of taking her in, because we've found nothing of her having a home. However we already have 2 cats, but that's another issue.
I'd really appreciate any insight, thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-16-2009, 01:07 PM
Cat Addict

Send a message via AIM to RachandNito
Re: Stray Cat Being Clingy?

It sounds to me like this kitty is trying to adopt you.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-16-2009, 06:56 PM

Hi,

this cat might have had a hard time on the street and is now so glad to have good food and tickles that she won't let you out of her sight for fear she might loose you. I don't think that you can stop her from doing this- maybe given some time she'll realize that she isn't goingto loose you and the food and shelter you supply her with and be more relaxed.