Introducing new puppy to cat - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-21-2009, 09:51 AM Thread Starter
Kitten

Introducing new puppy to cat

Hello all. I'm pretty new to cat ownership. I've had my Nell for 6 months now and it's been wonderful. She is such a sweet kitty and absolutely loves our Labrador. She found us in December, walked into our home and made herself welcomed with our family including our female Lab. We just brought home a 12 week old german shepherd puppy (he's a male) and Nell is absolutely ticked off at this. He has never seen a cat before and immediately started barking at her when he saw her.

I have her in a separate room today to calm her down, but how would I go about easing her stress over the new puppy? I knew this would be tricky, but her growling and hissing worries me. Should I leave her in her room for a couple of days - bringing her out for short times to get used to the puppy?

I'm at a loss on this one. ANY suggestions from those of you who have been through this will be such a help!

Thanks!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-23-2009, 12:18 AM

Re: Introducing new puppy to cat

Not that a recommend this, but a neighbor of mine growing up raised both cats and dogs. When the cats and dogs were young, she would put the kitten on the dogs back and pet them both profusely while talking sweetly.

It seemed to work out well, but I would recommend wearing gloves the first time.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-23-2009, 12:44 PM
Senior Cat

Quote:
Originally Posted by izcaturday
Not that a recommend this, but a neighbor of mine growing up raised both cats and dogs. When the cats and dogs were young, she would put the kitten on the dogs back and pet them both profusely while talking sweetly.

It seemed to work out well, but I would recommend wearing gloves the first time.