Worrisome Behavior - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 09-28-2009, 11:52 AM Thread Starter
Cat

Worrisome Behavior

Well, the former stray Darius is pretty much settled in. He and I have a set routine and he is doing great. What I am worried about it a bit of his behavior.

99% of the time, he is a very friendly cat. Playing, purring, rubbing up against people, and cuddling. But the other 1% of the time? He can be quite aggressive. I don't know if it is pent up energy he is releasing. Basically, he'll get bitey. Usually he attacks feet as a person is walking. There isn't much stalking at all. He doesn't use his claws, which is weird. He just occasionally lunges and bites. He has drawn blood before, and as a nursing student, I know cat bites can be quite serious.

I am wondering if this is the behavior that got him tossed on the street. Maybe as a kitten someone thought it was 'cute' that their kitten was nibbling their feet. And that turned into biting. I may see if I can find a cat behaviorist in the Milwaukee area to contact for an appointment if his behavior continues (any idea on how to find one? And what are the usual costs on average?). When I took him in, I made a lifelong commitment to him. I just don't want my housemates to be afraid of him (one says he makes her nervous). This results in him staying cooped up in my room when I am not there because I don't want him to hurt anyone.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 09-29-2009, 08:29 PM
Cat

Re: Worrisome Behavior