How to adopt this stray...? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-16-2011, 04:06 PM Thread Starter
Cat Addict

How to adopt this stray...?

I've been feeding this strays' colony for a few months, and 2 cats there called my attention for their friendliness (they'll sit on my lap for hours) and their apparent suffering in the street life. One of them struck me as an obvious former house cat and I adopted him 4 weeks ago. It was easy: each day he became braver and followed me further and further until one day he followed me all the way up the stairs to my apt. and I closed the door behind him.

Now, the other one is too scared to follow me inside the building. I tried it many times and it didn't work. She does follow me everywhere, but inside the building she can smell other cats' territory markings and won't come in. She's also not a former house cat, apparently, as she's not as gentle as my Prince. She can bite me if scared and feeling cornered (although she's become a lot more gentle with me with the time).

She's become a bit of an obsession to me, to save her from the streets. She has these huge, frightened eyes that I can't ever forget...always tense and alert and never resting...and I worry constantly about her. I ache to see her all warm and safe, I have so many nice blankets and cushions and good food to give her, and love and safety. I wanted to adopt her long before I met Prince, only I said to myself: "whoever dares follow me all the way to the apt, can stay in it forever" so it was Prince I adopted.

She and my Prince have known each other for months, as they belong to the same strays' colony here downstairs. Prince is desperate for friends. But I don't know if they'd get along.

And I have absolutely no idea if she'd be fine being an outdoor/indoor cat like Prince or an indoor cat.

Besides, I have no idea how to bring her into my apt.