Litter box help - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-15-2011, 11:56 AM Thread Starter
Jr. Cat

Litter box help

I have a feral that I have been working on socializing since November 2010. It has been a slow process especially with dealing with winter. I have made really great progress and Shadow now comes in the house 2-4x daily. He is sometimes in just to get something to eat and sometimes he is in to play and sleep. He has been inside for as long as 4 hours. Unfortunately, I have to keep the door cracked or he freaks. We will be working on getting the door closed soon. I decided to make a litter box available to him. I have an indoor only cat and his litter box is upstairs. I have not let Shadow upstairs yet so he has not found Jake's litter box. The litter box for Shadow is in the laundry room which is really close to where he comes inside. He explores the entire first floor and now knows the litter box is there. I used a bag of Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract. The litter has now been out for a week. He has stepped inside the box and smelled around, but no action. Jake is very interested, but I have kept him away. I am unsure, if it's ok for Jake to use the box too or not. So when Shadow is not in, I keep the laundry room door closed.

Any tips on getting Shadow interested. He so wants to stay inside for long periods at night. DH and I are having to push him out the door at night when we go to bed. Shadow just wants to stay. Before he can stay in for the night, he needs to use the litter box, I need to get the door closed and I need to get him socialized with Jake ( this by the way is going really well).

Thanks for any help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-15-2011, 05:19 PM
Premier Cat