Adopted 6 month old kitten and older cat - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-03-2013, 10:29 AM Thread Starter
Kitten

Unhappy Adopted 6 month old kitten and older cat

Hi all im new to this so thought id start by saying hi first!

I was wondering if i could get any advice, i have a 5 year old cat called kittie he's lovely and very affectionate and loves his daddy very much (my partner). I have just adopted my sisters 6 month old kitten as my nephews were trying to kill it bear in mind there 5, 4 and 1 and a half years old so i decided to take him off there hands. Now both of my cats are male but the kitten hasn't been castrated yet! Ive tried introducing my new kitten (simba) to my other cat (kittie) but both of them get defensive there hairs stand up on there back and tail and then my cat kittie runs and hides behind the washing machine. I love them both so much and desperate for them to get on does anyone have any advice fir me as i dont no what to do. Oh im now keeping simba seperate from kittie to see if that helps but it breaks my heart having to kerp them in seperate rooms any advice??
Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-03-2013, 11:56 AM
Kitten

If it was me, I'd just keep them separated but able to smell each other through the door for a while. There's always the "rub them down with towels and then let them smell each other that way." It may have been just too sudden of a meeting and they weren't prepared for it. But I've introduced many, many cats to each other and I've never had one where they couldn't come to a truce and they usually ended up quasi-friends at least. Just give them some time.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-03-2013, 01:18 PM
Premier Cat